Monday, June 8, 2009

Isn't Nala Beautiful

 Ok so it has been a couple of days . no weeks, ok months since I have posted. I did get a part in 12 dancing princesses. I was a dragon fly. It was so much fun I am so glad I did it. We had really pretty costumes that were made special for us.  We had to rehearsals every week until the performance. It was awesome. I met a lot of other dancers from other dance schools. It was fun to get to meet kids my age who are out there dancing and loving it like me. My mom during one of the rehearsals interviewed all of the dragonflies it will be a great memory to have.  Our performances were on May 15th, and 16th.  It was awesome. There were some really great dancers in it.  
 Now onto the next production in 2 days. Yes 2 days I can hardly believe it myself. We will be doing The Lion King. This is going to be great because there are a lot of really good dances that require a lot of energy. I am hoping the crowd will be awestruck.  My favorite character in Lion King is Timon. So of course I will not be playing Timon.  I will be playing Pumba, I think his personality fits me better anyway. No seriously I am going to be playing Nala when she was a cub. My favorite part is when I get to push Simba. He deserves it, boys are dumb.  I love dance and my favorite thing about it is performing. It takes a lot of work to get it right sometimes but it is way worth it. 

Sunday, February 1, 2009

The Audition

So here is the thing. On Friday my ballet teacher came to teach me a private lesson. I think everything is like normal when all of a sudden she pops the question, " So Teijzia are you going to go to the audition tomorrow? I think you should. 
  " In case you don't know what audition she is talking about let me fill you in. Mountain West Ballet is running a production of 12 Dancing Princesses. At first I thought that could be really fun. Then I thought about how scary it is to go and try something new. Then the thought came to me, " why would I try out for a baby ballet, I mean come on 12 Dancing Princesses that's a Barbie Story ( and I only secretly liked it). " I am way tooo cool for that kids stuff. But I am a Princess through and through.  
  So here I am put on the spot by my ballet teacher. She is waiting for my answer. So of course I tell her the easiest answer. " No I don't want to try out!" I am thinking this is the end of the conversation when low and behold she has a come back that I am totally not ready for. " So Teijzia what if on Wednesday I bring you french fries with a whole bottle of ketchup to eat them with? " Now here I am in a great predicament. I don't know what to do or say. My mom does not really let me have fries anymore and they are sooooo yummy. ....hm... what should I do should I take her up on her fry offer ? But that would mean I would have to go and do the scarey audition? Now this is a tough choice........ then my mom goes and throws in an all time low punch and says...... I will get you a milkshake right after the audition if you do it. Now I am stuck all I have to do is go to do an hour of  ballet on Saturday and I get French Fries and a milkshake of my choosing? Whats a girl to do? So I did the obvious and said reluctantly ," Ok I will do it." Ah!!!!!!!!!!!!! Now the anxiety is slipping in all around me and I am sooo nervous.  
  So Friday night after my mom got home from coaching she took me to go preregister. I was excited because I did not have to go with my hair in a bun and she even let me pick my clothes and wear a headband! She did not even argue once. This may be a great thing yet. So when we got there I was a little nervous. All that happened was they stuck me on a wall and placed a ruler on my head to see how tall I was. That was a piece of cake. It sure helped  a lot of that nasty anxiety.
  After the preregistration we went to Carls Junior and I got some chicken stars and my mom and I shared a milkshake. I had not even auditioned yet. This was turning out to be one of my greatest decisions.  The audition was at 8:30 in the morning so I went home got my things ready and went to bed. 
 Saturday 5:45am I woke up and could not sleep.  I was excited to go! Yeah I know strange how you can go from completely terrified of the thought to excited in less then one day, but it happened. So my mom could not sleep either so we got up and had a light breakfast, got ready and she let me play a little Nintendo. We left at 7:30 in the morning.  When we got there at 8:00 I was the second girl there. This is OK because this gave me time to make sure I was comfortable with the place and if I had gotten car sick for it to leave me.  I was a little nervous but mostly excited. As the girls came in for the audition it got a little crowded. I think there were 22 girls total auditioning for parts in my age group. 
  OK now here is the exciting part. The audition! What were they going to make us do? Would I know everything? Was it going to be really hard? So here it was I was in the studio and the judges panel was watching us, we stood in centre ...... and then they asked us to do ..oh.. no.. here it is... should I run? ... just kidding I was OK.  So they had us show tondu into positions and then plie.  We also did some pas de chat and skips. That was it. I was sooo happy I could do those things. 
  Now here is the hard part. The audition ended 9:30 am on Saturday morning now it is Sunday and I still have to wait one more day to find out if I made it. This is like pure torcher....... ah the life of girl.

 
 

Sunday, January 4, 2009

My Christmas and New Year

 My name is Teijzia I have 3 brothers, I know crazy luck.  I love ballet, ballet, ballet, and jazz.  I have a dog named Molly.  I love animals, which is funny since when I was really young I was terrified of them. I threw the biggest fits and made my younger brother be afraid and freak out too. Now that I am grown I think that was so silly.  I am in the 4th grade and think that school is fun. The two week break is too long to go without something structured to do. -jk
 I had a great Christmas. Yolanda and her family. came. Christmas hanging out with family is the best. We also went to a play. It was the coolest thing. We saw A Christmas Carol. Thank you everyone for your Christmas presents. I hope you had a happy new year.